Update: May 2, 2013:
Changes to Fingerprinting Policy:
We will only
be offering fingerprinting via a vendor at headquarters on Thursday's
from 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. No appointment is necessary and the $25.00
fee is payable by cash, bank check/money order or business check.
(Personal checks and credit cards cannot be accepted). All applicants
needing fingerprints taken must present valid photo identification.
The vendor also offers NOTARY service.
This change in policy is necessary due to
the significant increase in fingerprint requests for pistol permits,
pre-employment screening and other licensing.
Alternate locations and times for
Hartford PD 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Manchester PD 3 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Hartford PD 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
S. Windsor PD 3 p.m to 7 p.m.
Manchester PD 9 a.m. to 1 p.m
April 4, 2013:
Here is a link to the new gun laws, some are in effect immediately and
others are phased in over time. Most of the administration of these
registration regulations will be via the Connecticut State Police.
SOUTH WINDSOR POLICE DEPARTMENT
Pistol Permit Application Instructions
The process of applications for permits is governed by Connecticut
General Statute 29-28, et seq.
Update: February 2, 2013:
Due to the significant increase in
applications, processing at the State & Local level is taking longer
than normal. Applicants should expect the process to take 8 weeks or
more from the date of submission.
The state examiners only work normal business hours, excluding weekends
and legal holidays. We cannot issue a permit without verification
from the state examiners. This delay is beyond our control and we
will notify you when the permit is issued. Thank you for your
Packets are available in the Police Department lobby which is open 24
hours a day. Applicants may also be fingerprinted at any time, no
appointment is necessary and there is no fee for the service. The fingerprinting process takes about
20 minutes, but may be longer depending on the officers
availability and other calls for service.
The Temporary State Permit to Carry
Pistols and/or Revolvers:
The temporary permit is valid for sixty days. It allows
the holder of the permit, to lawfully possess a
pistol and/or revolver in the State of Connecticut in accordance with
The temporary permit DOES NOT allow the
holder to purchase firearms.
During the sixty days that the Temporary Permit is valid,
the holder of the permit may apply for a State Permit to Possess a
Pistol and/or Revolver at any of the Department of Public Safety
processing locations listed on the attached page.
The temporary permit MAY NOT BE RENEWED. If
it expires prior to the holder obtaining a State Permit, the holder must
re-apply for a new Temporary Permit.
process for a temporary state permit is as follows:
Applicants must obtain
and complete the permit application (DPS-799-C). Applications may be
obtained at local police departments.
At the time of
application, applicants must be 21 years of age and present the
following in addition to a set of fingerprints (See fingerprinting info
at top of page)
Fees: THESE MUST BE
SEPARATE CHECKS/MONEY ORDERS FOR EACH OF THE 3 FEES:
CHECK or MONEY ORDER (payable to the Treasurer- State of
CHECK or MONEY ORDER (payable to the Treasurer - State of
$70.00 ANY FORM OF
PAYMENT (payable to the Town of South Windsor)
The notarized Pistol Permit
Application filled out completely (Fingerprint vendor is also NOTARY)
A copy of a Connecticut
Driver’s License or Connecticut I.D. Card
A copy of a Birth
Certificate or CURRENT Passport
Proof of successful
completion of a safety or training course in the use of pistols and
revolvers (a National Rifle Association Certified Instructor, a Police
Firearms Instructor, a DEP Certified Instructor or other State Certified
Instructor must conduct this course).
An applicant for a Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and/or
Revolvers must submit to being fingerprinted. The fingerprints are
checked with records on file with the Connecticut State Police and the
Federal Bureau of Investigation. Fingerprints may be taken at the
police department at any time.
Local authorities must notify a permit applicant of the application
results within eight weeks of the application date. The
average time to process a permit is 6 to 8 weeks depending on State and
FBI examiners workload.
Refusal To Grant Temporary State Pistol Permit
Connecticut General Statute 29-28(b) states, "The issuing
authority shall find that such applicant intends to make no use of any
pistol or revolver which such applicant may be permitted to carry under
such permit other than a lawful use and that such person is a
suitable person to receive such permit."
Application will be denied if you have ever been convicted of a crime
at any time in any jurisdiction.
Application will be denied if you have been convicted of any of the
1. Illegal possession of
controlled or hallucinogenic substances, as specified under C.G.S.
2. Criminally negligent homicide - 53a-58
3. Assault in the third degree - 53a-61
4. Assault of a victim 60 or older in the third degree - 53a-61a
5. Threatening- 53a-62
6. Reckless endangerment in the first degree - 53a-63
7. Unlawful restraint in the second degree - 53a-96
8. Riot in the first degree - 53a-175
9. Riot in the second degree - 53a-176
10. Inciting to riot - 53a-178
11. Stalking in the second degree - 53a-181d
Other Standards for Permit Denial include, but may not be limited
to the following:
be denied if the applicant is the subject of any protective or
restraining order involving the use or, or threatened use of force.
The applicant was CONVICTED of
a MISDEMEANOR CRIME of DOMESTIC VIOLENCE:
This means an offense that (1) is a
misdemeanor under federal or state law; and (2) has, as an element, the
use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a
deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent or
guardian of the victim, or by a person with whom the victim shares a
child in common, or by a person who is cohabiting with or who has
cohabited with the victim or spouse, parent, or guardian, or by any
person similarly situated to a spouse, parent or guardian of the victim.
You were discharged
from custody within the preceding 20 years after having been found NOT
GUILTY OF A CRIME BY REASON OF MENTAL DISEASE OR DEFECT 53a-13.
You were CONFINED TO A
HOSPITAL for any psychiatric disability (17a-495) within the preceding
12 months by order of a judge of a probate court.
You are subject to a
RESTRAINING ORDER or PROTECTIVE ORDER issued by a court in a case
involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force.
You are now subject to
a Firearms Seizure Order issued pursuant to Public Act 99-212 Sec. 18,
prohibiting possession of firearms.
You are an ILLEGAL
ALIEN in the United States.
You are UNDER the AGE
of 21 years.
You have renounced
your United States citizenship.
You have been
discharged from the Armed Forces under a dishonorable condition.
You are prohibited by
Federal Law Section 922 (g) or (n) of Title 18 of the United States
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (State Police):
In order to effectuate C.G.S. 29-28, the
Department of Public Safety herein notifies the applicant that the
Department of Public Safety (DPS) will be notified by the Department of
Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) if the applicant has been
confined in a hospital for psychiatric disabilities within the preceding
twelve (12) months by order of probate court. The Department of Public
Safety will use this information in order to fulfill its obligations
under C.G.S. Section 29-28 to 29-38 inclusive.
For information on the State of CT pistol permit process:
Visit the Connecticut
Department of Public Safety web site at:
For further information or to check
on the status of an application please contact Sgt. Kristian
(860)648-6216, or by email at